FREE FROM DELICIOUS CAKE

Oh that Sunday feelin’ is here!
Last week I spent my Sunday experimenting in the kitchen (my home kitchen…the one which actually has an oven!) like a mad professor trying to come up with something oh so delicious but also nutritious…. and my oh my did I do it!
Trialling the bad boy I made with my friends, and of course it was an absolute hit!! Therefore, I want to share this magical cake with you to try at home and make your own!

It kind of fits with the whole Christmas spirit at the moment as it actually oozes spice  s and cinnamon flavours. A fruit cake for all… so god damn easy so god damn good.

Ingredients-
170g Gluten free flour
50 g ground almond
80ml orange juice
250 g mixed dried fruit
1 tsp mixed spices (I used my Grandmas own concoction)
200g chopped dates
300 ml water

IMG_2331

IMG_2331

Okay so now what you want to do is –

Throw the dates and the water into a pan on a high heat until the water is boiling. Once boiled, lower the heat and allow the mixture to simmer for 10-15 minutes / until the mixture is soft and combined.

IMG_2329

IMG_2329

Whilst the dates are stewing, sieve the flour into a large mixing bowl and add in all the other ingredients. Mix all together thoroughly.

Take the dates of the heat and allow to cool for 20 minutes.
Now we can go grab a coffee or make a juice, and await… Time seems to go by rather slowly now but do not pick at the dates… I have to tell myself this, all the time.

Now add the dates into the mixing bowl and use your hands to combine everything together nicely! Oh yes, let’s get sticky!!

IMG_2328IMG_2328

Wash your hand and grease and line a BREAD tin so that its ready for you to scoop on in your beautiful creation. The ‘fruity tootie’ mixture.

Bake in the oven for 25-30 minutes or until the mixture is a golden colour and when you test it with a knife, it comes out clean.

Done?? Yey, smells good eh?

Serve it hot or allow to cool and keep for all the friends and family.
Be warned though, it is very addictive! Do not leave out for creeping hands.

IMG_2611IMG_2611
Send me in your fruity specials!

Much Love

Evie  X

Leave a Reply

